Cooking The Books – Jacqui Jacoby

Chef with cookbookIt’s a high stakes zone here today with my guest, Romantic Suspense author Jacqui Jacoby. Jacqui writes “romance with a body count” and her latest release, With A Vengeance, is out now (check out that cover!). Now I don’t expect Jaime, the heroine of With A Vengeance, and I have a great deal in common. However we do share a mutual love of the very best kind of fast food. I’m going to let Jaime tell you about it.

 

Jaime Cooks for StephenFinalWithAVengeance_250x

by Jaime Reid, star of With a Vengeance

Home Ec.  It was the only D I ever got in school.  Phz Ed I could master no problem.  Math classes, another not so top of the line favorite, I even managed to keep my grades above a B.  But Home Ec.  Not a chance. It might have had something to do with me hating to cook.  Or the fact I knew the chances of me ever having to sew a duffle bag were nil.  I really don’t know what it was about the classes and the way the teachers made me feel.

I do know I never learned to cook and it is a trait I have kept with me all through my life.

That doesn’t mean I don’t want to on some nights, that I wouldn’t love to give the cook the night off and create something special for Stephen.  I just have to choose my nights carefully and make sure I have all the ingredients I need to pull it off.

The first thing to consider is no heat is involved. No stove and no oven.  I have to keep this low key and make it as painless as possible.  Then the two of us will get to enjoy the night.

cheese-1-1123-dcgjpg-086066ee270c3c55I like a wine and cheese dinner.

Needed
Four Types of Cheese, each with its distinct flavor and texture.

Dried fruit, maybe some apricots and cranberries.

Nuts

Loaf of French bread

Bottle of a good red wine.  Maybe a 1984 Raymund Burr Cab.  That always hits the right spot.

The finishing touch is important.  You need a dessert that won’t need a spoon.  Homemade chocolate chip cookies are good except for the homemade part.  Putting that together puts me back in the kitchen and the kitchen is the place I want to avoid.

My favorite — and Stephen’s, — if it can be found?  Baklava. Nice sweet and a little bit sticky.  Some thing to lick your fingers afterwards.  It really finishes off the meal and goes good with the wine.

The best thing about this meal?  Besides its simplicity?  It can go anywhere you want.  I may have gotten that D in Home Ec, but I can still manage to pack a picnic basket. The beach, the mountains.  Your own backyard under a full moon.  How about indoors? In front of the fire when it’s just the two of you?

No, I can’t cook.  But that’s okay.  I don’t worry about it too much.  I just do what I can for my man and love the way it makes me feel.

About Jacqui:

Award winning author, Jacqui Jacoby lives and writes in the beauty of the Valley of the Sun. Currently adjusting to her new digs, JacquiAuthorPicJacqui is a self proclaimed, self-defense hobbyist. Having studied martial arts for numerous years she retired in 2006 from the sport. She is a working Mom, whose career includes writing books, teaching online and live workshops and penning short non-fiction. She can be reached via her web site at http://www.JacquiJacoby.com

Jacqui Jacoby on the web:

Website          Facebook           Twitter   Author Page

WITH A VENGEANCE

The more she wanted out, the more they dragged her back in!

Daughter to murdered CIA officers, niece to a deputy director, Jaime Walsh has never known life outside the world of espionage. Until a high-action case in Buenos Aires leaves her gutted. Physically, emotionally…and professionally.

She’d planned for her long-overdue vacation to be a time to rest and reassess. With her longtime partner Stephen not far behind, it’s a tropical paradise away from work. A paradise where boundaries will be tested.

From their training days, Stephen Reid has watched Jaime kick ass while performing what has become his second job—watching her back. But now his feelings have grown.

As best friends look at each other in a new light, they like what they see. And Jaime dreams of a new life outside “the company”.

Except someone from their past won’t be satisfied until Jaime and the man she loves are hunted to the brink of death. Now Jaime must find the strength to trust her heart and let go of her fear. Before she loses everything…

Read an Excerpt

Read Reviews

Buy Links:
Samhain

Amazon
B&N

PowellsBooks

8 comments on “Cooking The Books – Jacqui Jacoby

  1. “A loaf of bread, a jug of wine – and cheese!” I think the original was – “and thou beside me in the wilderness”, but if a “thou” is not available, cheese is a great substitute. Thanks, Lou and Jacqui. for another enjoyable post.

Leave a Reply

